Monday, June 10, 2024

Virtual Book Tour & Giveaway: Over the Edge by Kathleen Bryant

 

Over the Edge: A Novel
by
Kathleen Bryant

Traditional Mystery
Setting - Sedona, Arizona
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: June 4, 2024
Hardcover page count: 304 pages
ISBN-10: 1639107541 / ISBN-13: 978-1639107544
Digital ASIN: B0CH9KTJ6C


SCROLL DOWN FOR GIVEAWAY!

SYNOPSIS:

 

In Sedona’s red rock canyons, a former reporter must piece together her shattered memories in time to stop a killer in this cat-and-mouse thriller, perfect for fans of CJ Box and Anne Hillerman.

After a disastrous mistake ended her career as a crime reporter, Del Cooper returns to Sedona and takes a gig with a down-on-its-luck tour company while she rebuilds her life. Her peaceful small-town escape ends when, hiking in a remote red rock canyon, she finds the broken body of a murdered man.

At first, she believes the murder is connected to a proposed land trade that will pave the way for a luxury development on the edge of town, but it seems money isn’t the killer’s only motive. As she digs deeper, she uncovers the small town’s darkest secrets, all leading her to Lee Ranch, a former filming location for Western movies. Two women disappear after Del interviews them, and rumors begin to spin faster than Sedona’s famed energy vortexes. But she knows the truth: Someone is watching her from the shadows.

    CLICK TO PURCHASE!

 

REVIEW:

5 stars!

A “To Die For” Setting! 

Over the Edge is a new mystery by veteran author Kathleen Bryant featuring a former reporter who returns to the home of her childhood summers in Sedona, Arizona, to care for her critically ill aunt and regroup after being laid off from her job. While it’s not indicated to be the first book of a new series, the storylines and extensive community building have laid a good foundation, and I liked the protagonist so much that I have my fingers crossed it will be. 

I liked the main character, Delilah “Del” Cooper, and while the premise that leads her back to Sedona is very similar to that of my favorite J.A. Jance’s protagonist, Ali Reynolds (former reporter, aunt’s house, amateur sleuth), she’s got different issues and interests that kept her from seeming like a clone. I can LOVE both of these Sedona-set mystery series. Del is incredibly curious and concerned about the welfare of her fellow residents and the local environment, and I thoroughly enjoyed the trips into the canyons and wild areas, which are beautifully and evocatively described, making me feel present in the moment alongside Del. 

The murder occurs very early in the book, so there’s no delay in getting to the ‘who-dun-it’ part of the story. As Del was the one who spotted the body originally, she had a vested interest in finding the answer. She’s warned off investigating on her own before she’s really expressed an interest in doing so, but naturally, her reporter background and honest concern for those involved won’t let her do that. I (and Del) suspected several characters throughout the story as twists and turns changed my mind, or someone was ruled out. The resolution was a satisfactory surprise. 

I recommend OVER THE EDGE to mystery and thriller readers, especially those who enjoy stories with an exceptional sense of place.




ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Kathleen Bryant turned her boots-first exploration of the West’s landscapes and cultures into a career as a travel writer and novelist. Her publishing credits include romance novels, travel guides, magazine articles, an award-winning children’s picture book, and a cookbook highlighting National Parks. An avid hiker and history buff, she’s led tours of ancient rock art sites, participated in field school digs, and guided yoga experiences in the red rocks of Sedona. Today, Kathleen lives with her musician husband in California, where she continues to seek out new adventures. When she’s not writing or researching her next book, you might find her on a hiking trail taking photos of wildflowers or driving down a country lane to visit a dairy farm or vineyard.



TOUR PARTICIPANTS:


June 4 – Mystery, Thrillers, and Suspense – SPOTLIGHT
June 4 – Elizabeth McKenna - Author – SPOTLIGHT
June 5 – Baroness Book Trove – SPOTLIGHT
June 5 – Christy's Cozy Corners – REVIEW, AUTHOR GUEST POST
June 6 – Literary Gold – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
June 7 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
June 7 – Sapphyria's Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
June 8 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
June 8 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT
June 9 – Maureen's Musings – SPOTLIGHT
June 9 – StoreyBook Reviews – AUTHOR GUEST POST
June 10 – Ruff Drafts – AUTHOR GUEST POST
June 10 – Guatemala Paula Loves to Read – REVIEW
June 11 – Ascroft, eh? – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
June 11 – Carla Loves To Read - REVIEW



TURN THIS WHO-DUN-IT
INTO
YOU-WON-IT!






Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?
Click Here to Find Details and Sign Up Today!
Want to Book a Tour?
Click Here

No comments: